April 15, 2020 

***Media Advisory***

Democracy Experts Host Protect Our Vote: Defending Democracy During COVID 19 Virtual Town Hall Series

Featuring: Senator Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), Senator Ron Wyden (D-OR), Senator Elizabeth Warren (D-MA), Representative Hakeem Jeffries (D-NY), Secretary of State Kim Wyman (R-WA), and Former RNC Chair Michael Steele

WHAT: On April 20, the Declaration for American Democracy, supported by over 150 nonprofits serving the public interest, is launching the Protect Our Vote: Defending Democracy During COVID 19 virtual town hall series. The virtual series will focus on the need for swift action and solutions from Congress to secure our right to safely and fairly vote in nationwide elections. Following our bipartisan kick-off event, we will be hosting state-focused virtual town halls in Maine, Arizona, North Carolina, Colorado, and Georgia. 

Right now, the pillars of our Democracy are under threat. While health experts urge Americans to stay home, too many states fail to offer options for voters to register to vote or cast their ballot in a safe and accessible way. Even as some state governments consider adapting their voting laws in response to the crisis, the reality is that states lack funds to implement the vital reforms needed. The Wisconsin primary disaster is a prime example of why we must take action now. 

Jana Morgan, campaign director at the Declaration for American Democracy: 

“To uphold everyone’s right to vote in America this year, Congress must provide states with the funding they need in the next COVID-19 legislative package, as well as mandate much needed reforms. By enacting common-sense, pro-voter policies, people of all ages in every state will be able to vote without fear for their health.”

The Declaration for American Democracy Coalition demands that Congress allocate at least $4 billion in funding for election protection this year, and mandate critical reforms to ensure everyone in America has equal access to the ballot box. These reforms include:

  1. Ensuring that states take steps to protect the health and safety of poll workers and voters. 
  2. Expanding voter registration options such as online registration and same day registration.
  3. Requiring states to expand early voting to prevent lines and crowded polling places where people could be exposed to the virus. 
  4. Enacting postage paid no-excuse vote-by-mail as an option for every voter in America.

This Facebook Live kick-off event will include key leaders from government and civil society. Speakers will include representatives from Congress, state governments, the Leadership Conference on Civil and Human Rights, People For the American Way, The Brennan Center, Public Citizen, Common Cause, Stand Up America, the League of Women Voters, the National Disability Rights Network, Declaration for American Democracy and many more. 

WHEN: Monday, April 20, 2020 at 8PM-9:30PM EDT

WHERE: Facebook Livestream at: 


  • Senator Amy Klobuchar (D-MN)
  • Senator Ron Wyden (D-OR)
  • Senator Elizabeth Warren (D-MA)
  • Representative Hakeem Jeffries (D-NY)
  • Washington Secretary of State Kim Wyman (R-WA)
  • Former RNC Chair Michael Steele
  • Civil Society Leaders From:
    • The Brennan Center
    • Common Cause
    • Declaration for American Democracy
    • The Leadership Conference on Civil and Human Rights
    • The League of Women Voters
    • The National Disability Rights Network
    • People For the American Way
    • Public Citizen
    • Stand Up America

RSVP: To RSVP to the virtual town hall, please indicate that you are “going” to our Facebook Event and email Lyra Cooper at Once you RSVP, we’ll provide extra information ahead of the event. 

MEDIA CONTACT: For media inquiries, please contact Lyra Cooper at or 510-847-5122. 


The Declaration for American Democracy is a diverse coalition of over 150 democracy, environmental, labor, faith-based, good government, civil rights, and other groups focused on advancing the structural changes necessary to ensure our democracy reflects, responds to, and represents voters.

English Español