Defending Democracy During COVID 19

Right now, our Democracy is under threat — too many states are failing to offer options for voters to cast their ballot in a safe and accessible way. That’s why the Declaration for American Democracy and our coalition of 150 member organizations hosted a series of virtual town halls across the country to help protect our vote and defend our democracy.

Kickoff  |  Maine  |  North Carolina  |  Arizona  |  Colorado  |  Georgia  |  Rally | 100 Days Telepresser | August Townhall

Monday Apr 20 | 8PM ET/5PM PT

Protect Our Vote | Virtual Town Hall Kick-Off

Special Guests
Senator Amy Klobuchar (D-MN)
Senator Ron Wyden (D-OR)
Senator Elizabeth Warren (D-MA
Representative Hakeem Jeffries (D-NY)
Washington Secretary of State Kim Wyman (R-WA)

Jana Morgan, Director – Declaration for American Democracy

Max Feldman, Counsel – Brennan Center for Justice
Vanita Gupta, President & CEO – The Leadership Conference on Civil and Human Rights
Michelle Bishop, Voting Rights Specialist – National Disability Rights Network
Karen Hobert Flynn, President – Common Cause
Debra Cronmiller, Executive Director – League of Women Voters of Wisconsin
Rio Tazewell, Senior Campaigns Manager – People For the American Way
Christine Wood, Democracy Organizer – Public Citizen
Brett Edkins, Political Director – Stand Up America

Also participating, representatives from:
Alliance for Youth Action
Democracy 21
Let America Vote / End Citizens United Action Fund
National LGBTQ Task Force Action Fund
Union of Concerned Scientists

Thursday Apr 23 | 6PM ET

Maine Virtual Town Hall

Senator Angus King (I-ME)
Alison Beyea, Executive Director – Maine ACLU
Kathy Montejo, Lewiston City Clerk
Lori Parham, Executive Director – Maine AARP
Robyn Merrill, Executive Director of Maine Equal Justice
Anna Kellar, League of Women Voters of Maine and Maine Citizens for Clean Elections 

Monday Apr 27 | 7PM ET

North Carolina Virtual Town Hall

U.S. Representative David Price
U.S. Representative G. K. Butterfield
U.S. Representative Alma Adams
North Carolina State Senator Jay Chaudhuri
Marcus Bass, Executive Director of NC Black Alliance
Tomas Lopez, Executive Director of Democracy North Carolina
Bob Phillips, Executive Director of Common Cause NC
Melissa Price Kromm, Director of North Carolina Voters for Clean Elections 

Friday May 1 | 6PM MST/PDT

Arizona Virtual Town Hall

U.S. Representative Greg Stanton
Arizona Secretary of State Katie Hobbs
U.S. Representative Raúl Grijalva
Maricopa County Recorder Adrian Fontes

More to come… 

Randy Perez, Democracy Director of LUCHA Arizona

Wednesday May 6 | 7PM MDT

Colorado Virtual Town Hall

U.S. Senator Michael Bennet
U.S. Representative Jason Crow
Colorado Secretary of State Jena Griswold
Hon. Wayne Williams, Former Colorado Secretary of State
Nicole Hensel, Executive Director of New Era Colorado
Tamra DeBrady, President, Colorado Black Women for Political Action
Dusti Gurule, Executive Director, Colorado Organization for Latina Opportunity and Reproductive Rights

Dr. Toni Larson, Director, Action & Advocacy, League of Women Voters of Colorado
Andrea Wilkins, League of Women Voters Colorado 

Wednesday May 20 | 6:30PM ET

Georgia Virtual Town Hall


US Representative Sanford Bishop, D-GA-2
Georgia State Rep. Bee Nguyen, D-89
Georgia State Rep. Park Cannon, D-58
Georgia State Sen. Harold Jones, D-22
Cindy Battles, Program Coordinator, Common Cause Georgia
Wanda Mosley, Senior State Coordinator, Georgia, Black Voters Matter
Esther Lim, Organizing and Civic Engagement Director, Asian Americans Advancing Justice-Atlanta
Umer Rupani, Executive Director, Georgia Muslim Voter Project
Susannah Scott, President, League of Women Voters of Georgia
Aklima Khondoker, Georgia State Director, All Voting is Local

Tuesday June 9 | 7PM ET

Vote for Our Lives | Virtual Rally

• House Speaker Nancy Pelosi
• Reverend Dr. William J. Barber, II, Co-Chair of the Poor People’s Campaign: A National Call for Moral Revival
• Dolores Huerta Labor Activist and Civil Rights Leader
• Vanita Gupta, President and CEO, The Leadership Conference on Civil and Human Rights
• Wendy Fields, Executive Director, Democracy Initiative
• Rev. Leslie Watson Wilson, Director of African American Religious Affairs, People For the American Way
• Jennifer Epps-Addison, Network President and Co-Executive Director, Center for Popular Democracy

Moderated by:
• Leigh Chapman, Voting Rights Program Director, The Leadership Conference on Civil and Human Rights Leadership Conference on Civil and Human Rights
• Jana Morgan, Director, Declaration for American Democracy

Tuesday August 11 | 730PM ET

Protect Our Vote Virtual Town Hall w/ Reps Beatty & Sarbanes

Our elections are under threat. People must be able to vote safely in November. Yet, Senate Republicans are blocking key funding needed to #ProtectOurVote. Join us on August 11 7:30-8:30pm ET for a virtual town hall with Congresswoman Joyce Beatty, Congressman John Sarbanes and movement leaders to discuss why funding for safe elections must be included in the next COVID package, and what citizens can do to make themselves heard.

Despite COVID cases rising, the Senate Republicans proposed $0 for critical funding needed to #ProtectOurVote. No one should have to choose between their health and their vote.

U.S. Representative Joyce Beatty
U.S. Representative John Sarbanes
Hilary Shelton, Washington Bureau Director & Senior Vice President for Advocacy and Policy | NAACP
Leigh Chapman, Voting Rights Program Director | The Leadership Conference on Civil and Human Rights
Wendy Fields, Executive Director | Democracy Initiative
Karen Hobert Flynn, President | Common Cause

Submit a Question

My question is for the ___________ town hall.

Share Your Story

Contact Us

6 + 4 =

© 2021. All rights reserved.